Regional Low Carbon Task Force

The Regional Minister, Ian Austin, recently announced a  ‘Low Carbon’ West Midlands Task and Finish Group, chaired by Professor Julia King.

The intention is that the group will meet three times (15 January, 22nd February, 22nd March) in the first quarter of 2010 and develop three or four ‘big ideas’ around immediate opportunities, in the area of low carbon, which can be implemented quickly and which have the potential to make a significant contribution to the regional economy.

The Low Carbon task force group membership covers buildings, transport, energy and environment, along with IT and communications as a critical ‘enabler’. There is also two DECC Ministers as members of the group: Lord Hunt and David Kidney.  The group will be supported by AWM, with Gareth Stanley as the Secretary/Coordinator.

Sustainability West Midlands Chair George Marsh, is on the task force, as is fellow SWM Board member, Mark Pearce from AWM, other invited SWM members include Alan Yates (Accord Housing), Ian Binks (BT), Tim Pollard (Wolsley), and Peter Jones (ex Biffa)

Sustainability West Midlands will be seeking to draw on our wider membership as opportunities arise to participate through briefings and comment to the Task force. It will be our role to ensure the Task Force builds on the existing good practice within the region and prioritises further support for existing work and identifies and address any gaps, such as a Low Carbon Economic Zone. The North East, South West, even Manchester City Region have this Government designation – where is ours?